A Sense of Place

Day 23: We peek into an Art StudioBetty Denton Studio.jpg

Not mine, alas.

I’ve been doing casual research on a local artist, which led me to this photo of the house where she lived for 27 years. For reasons unknown at the moment, the house was put on the market last year and sold. This photo was taken while the house was on the market.

This is waterfront property, by the way. Her studio overlooked Lake Earl, which is a protected harbor that flows into Choctawhatchee Bay.

You can see the water from the windows. There’s a boat dock on the left and an outbuilding of some kind on the right.

Inside the room, I can make out a few details – rolled up rattan shades that could be lowered when needed. Tile floors that could be cleaned up pretty quickly. Shelves for books. A cabinet (a taboret) for holding papers and other art supplies.

One small window, overlooking … what?  Why?  Larger, deeper drawers for … what?

Maybe if I ever meet her, I can ask. And if I  find out, I’ll tell you. That’s a promise.

To all of us.

 

9 thoughts on “A Sense of Place

    1. Me too! I just love the whole idea of having a place that we can go to, be who we are, let the world go on without us for a little while. Hah – I just had a memory of a walk-in closet of an old house in Duluth, Minnesota that had a small window. During certain times of the year – after the leaves had fallen from the trees – I had a view of Lake Superior. But because the window was so high, I had to stand on my tiptoes. When the moon was full, the view was spectacular!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What a beautiful spot. How lucky this woman was to have a place to “do” her art. Environment is so important, especially when you are trying to create.

    Like

    1. Yes! What makes this place even more special is that – I suspect, but do not know for sure, which is why I’m wanting to learn more about her – she earned the money to buy the house and build the studio using the funds that she made through teaching classes, writing books, selling her work, etc. And she was a late bloomer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

