The Creature of the Cache

C.jpg

C is for Creature. He’s gone missing, my Creature. We’ve been together since April of 2005, when I found him in a geocache site up in New England. I’d gone along with Skip, who was a regular member of a local geocache group. I was doing research for a story, and Skip was kind enough to let me tag along.

IMG_0085

We are clearly in the middle of nowhere, but my trusty guide zeros in on a  cache.

IMG_0117

Well hidden, but the blue does catch the eye. If you are bending down and looking closely.

And then …  there he is! My creature! My favorite scary monster of time: The Creature of the Black Lagoon!

IMG_0121

The rule with geocache is, take something, leave something. Skip comes prepared. He hands me the creature and wanders off. He returns with his backpack, pulls out a small plastic bag with a notebook and pencil inside, and lays it gently into the cache. The trade is made. The deal is done.

Several days later, I take my Creature out for a ride. We head out to the Blackstone River and Canal Heritage Center, which is the closest body of water than I can think of. Some association, anyway.

IMG_0017.JPG

Here he is, peering out the window of the Visitor Center.

That was years ago. Since then, he’s been hanging out around the house. We live in Florida now. No more adventures, alas. Last time I saw him, he was posing for some sketches I’d done. But mostly I focused on the Manikin, the Gargoyle, and the Troubadour. Maybe the Creature felt neglected? This is what he looked like, last time I saw him, a few weeks back:

Last seen.jpg

Maybe he’s run off to Wakulla Springs. If you see him, tell him to come home, okay?

 

Note: I’m participating in the  A to Z Blogging Challenge for 2016. The challenge is to write 26 posts, each one tied to a letter of the alphabet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

