Y is for Yesterday

Y.jpg

 

Yesterday. It’s an umbrella word. Covers time, music, happenstance, stories, excuses, infinite endings, some beginnings, and sometimes, well, whatever.

In my case, it involved dealing with what I have decided to dub ‘the small blue circle of death,’ which is something, something, blah, blah, blah to do with trying to go back to the way things were before I upgraded from Windows 7 Professional to Windows 10. Let the wailing commence – I hear you.

In my case, the system couldn’t go back to the past because something, something, blah, blah, blah. Couldn’t check mail, go online, back up files, not even access the task master. And it wasn’t that my computer was frozen. I could have handled that. What drove me to hair-pulling frustration was this endless, whirling, cheerful, spinning (expletives removed) blue circle.

So my inner Luddite went floating on a raft in a pool somewhere serene. I won’t tell you what the rest of me was doing.

Except that I’m still on Windows 10, but having to reset every password I’ve ever used for every program that I need at this very moment.

Today, my internal light bulb went off and I booked a ticket for Parts Unknown. AKA pulling the plug. Somewhere the floating sea is beckoning …

And what of Z? Ah… whirl, spin, spin, whirl…

One thought on “Y is for Yesterday

  1. I am holding onto my Windows 7 with both hands. I didn’t think anything could be worse than Windows 8, but I was wrong. I’m sure that some day I’ll be forced to change, and at that point I may just join you on that raft for Luddites. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

