When Prompts Backfire

So … recently, I signed up for the WordPress University Every Day Inspiration, thinking it would be a great way to get back into blogging after an extended absence. Then came Day One, and the prompt was: I write because …

That was June 27th. I’m still thinking about it. Why? Because … it’s complicated. I will write that post. I promise.

In the meantime, yesterday, while waiting for the plumber to arrive, I started doodling.

3 views of one writer

I think I’m at the Clump stage. Which is good. We’re making progress. So, maybe not a backfire as much as a back door. Whatever works.

One thought on “When Prompts Backfire

  1. The everyday inspiration prompts are not very inspiring… but your post is. πŸ™‚ It gave me any number of ideas – most of them entirely frivolous – as to what to put in a why I write post but unfortunately I’ve written mine over a month ago (two?)! What a wasted opportunity. πŸ™‚
    I take several weeks moving from prompt to prompt as well; there seems to be so many more interesting things to write about! But I will complete this course… in a fashion (minus the really boring prompts). πŸ™‚ Good luck with yours!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

